Qantara Qantara

The Almohad Dynasty (1130 – 1269)

Consult the historical map

The achievements of the Almohad Empire profoundly marked the history and the art of the Western Muslim world. From their origins in the mountainous zones of the Anti-Atlas and the High Atlas, the Almohads managed to found the greatest empire the western part of Dâr al-Islam had ever known, stretching from Tripolitania to the Atlantic and including al-Andalus.

The story of the Almohads began with the preachings of the Berber jurist Ibn Tumart, who originated from the Hargha tribe. He protested against the Almoravids and particularly against the power exercised over the sovereign Ali b. Yusuf, by the Malikite jurists (fuqaha’). Ibn Tumart demanded reform and put forward a new doctrine, the tawid (Unitarianism). This doctrine proposed a synthesis of different Muslim movements, particularly Ash’arism and Shia Islam and demanded a return to the fundamentals of Islamic law (Koran and Sunnah) in order to avoid continual reference to jurisprudence, a practice typical of the Malikite jurists. Ibn Tumart then proclaimed himself as Mahdi (Well guided), a notion borrowed from Shia Islam, which lent his movement a messianic character and legitimised his efforts by giving them an air of unimpeachablity (‘isma).

Thanks to the support of certain of the more powerful Masmuda Berber tribes, Ibn Tumart managed to bring together a group of followers, who settled in Tinmel in 1124. This group developed a hierarchy based on Berber community traditions and began their long battle against their Almoravid rulers. When he died, Ibn Tumart passed on the leadership of the movement to ‘Abd al-Mu’min, a true strategist and warlord, who was to be the architect of the Almohad victory over the Almorivids. The end of the Almoravid dynasty came with the fall of Marrakech in 1147 but this did not quench the Almohad thirst for conquest. They continued to battle against numerous insurrections and to expand the empire towards Ifriqiya and al-Andalus. Like their predecessors, the Almohads continued the fight against the advances of the Norman Christians in Ifriqiya and the Portuguese and Spanish in al-Andalus. Their success in battle finally put an end to the Norman attempts to conquer Ifriqiya and their victory at Alarcos in 1195 put back for a long period the Iberian Christians’ re-conquest of al-Andalus.

The grandeur of the Almohad Empire was not just the result of its geographic size. Strengthened by the legitimacy lent to them by “Almohadism”, the Almohad rulers, starting with ‘Abd al-Mu’min proclaimed themselves as caliphs and thus broke with the nominal recognition of Abbasid authority, which had been respected by the Almoravids. The power of the caliphs was based on a hierarchical system, in which the Sayyid, members of the Mu’minid clan and the Ashyakh, dignitaries of the different Almohad tribes occupied the most favoured positions. The Almohad doctrine was spread through a group of doctors, talaba or huffaz, who task it was to spread the word amongst the population in the Berber language.

The Almohad coins, with their double dinars and square dirham, clearly underlines their will to break with past standards.

With their large fleet of warships, the Almohads developed a number of ports in Tunis, Béjaïa and Ceuta as well as on the Atlantic coast. Despite the conflicts in al-Andalus, trade continued to expand with the European Christians and diplomatic contact was maintained with Pisa and Genoa.

The strength of their political will and their administrative organisation allowed the Almohads to carry out many urbanisation projects. In the capital Marrakech, a new palatial complex, the Qasba, was completed. Their capital in al-Andalus, Seville, also underwent transformations with the building of the qasr (Alcazar) as well as a new Great Mosque. Ribat al-Fath (now Rabat) was founded by ‘Abd al-Mu’min and continued by his successors. Rabat was a gathering point for the Almohad armies en route for al-Andalus and the construction of the Hassan mosque, which was never completed under the Almohads but which was the largest mosque of the medieval Muslim west, was started. Many other towns in the Maghreb and al-Andalus, such as Taza, Fez, Silves, Mertola, Siyasa and Saltes bear traces of a prosperous urban life. Two notable aspects of Almohad urbanization were the importance of urban fortification and the development of gardens on the edges of the towns: bahira (gardens with water basins) such as at Marrakech, Fez and Seville.

The Almohads also used artistic expression to spread their ideology. Their religious architecture was particularly sumptuous and several of the Almohad Great Mosques in the Maghreb and al-Andalus are considered as masterpieces: in Marrakech the two Kutbiyya (1147 and 1158) and the Qasaba mosque (around 1197), the Great Mosque of Seville (1172)… The two cities founded by the Almohads, Taza and Rabat also saw the construction of great mosques in 1135 and 1196 – 1197. The town of Tinmel, where the Almohads first gathered was not forgotten and a great mosque was constructed to the memory of Mahdi Ibn Tumart. These constructions were all part of a coherent architectural programme: the prayer rooms are all in the form of a T, following the classic example of Medina, Cordoba or Kairouan. The naves are perpendicular to the qibla wall, with a wide transversal nave and a principal axial nave, which is more pronounced than the others. The axial and transversal naves are set of by a series of cupolas embellished with muquarnas. Cupolas also mark the intersections between the transversal and longitudinal naves. The central courtyard (sahn) is delimited by the continuation of the lateral naves, which integrate it into the construction as a whole and complete the balance of the structure. Probably the most distinctive aspects of the Almohad mosques are the minarets. They are decorated with a series of arched windows in different styles, adorned with a network of patterns consisting of curves and rectangles and the top of the tower is often embellished with a band of decorative ceramic tiles. An excellent example is that of the Qasba mosque in Marrakech.

The monumental city gates are another example of typical Almohad architecture. They are square in shape, generally stand out from the buttressed walls themselves and are often flanked by two towers. In order to pass through the gates, travellers would be obliged to cross a series of halls and open spaces generally organised in the form of a bottleneck. Some of these gates (Bâb al-Rwâh and the Udâya gate in Rabat; Bâb Agnâw in Marrakech) are elaborately decorated, which breaks with the usual sober tradition. In fact Almohad aesthetics used ornamentation in a particular way. The decoration is often sober, airy and well balanced. The austerity shown by the Almohads seems to have been in reaction to the exuberance of Almoravid decoration.

Decorative art and furnishings also developed considerably under the Almohads. The tiraz, of which many examples are conserved in Spain, follow in the footsteps of Andalusian textile production and in no way reflect the austerity of Almohad architecture. The most characteristic of the ceramics was probably the esgrafiado (Sgraffito). The most beautiful specimens have been found in the eastern parts of al-Andalus.

The Almohad regime eventually fell victim to internal conflicts and after the disaster of Las Navas de Tolosa (al-‘Uqab 1212) the empire gradually fell into ruin. The Christian conquest of al-Andalus accelerated and the Muslim cities fell one after the other: Cordoba (1236), Valencia (1238), Murcia (1243) and Seville (1248). Only one Muslim enclave survived in the kingdom of Granada under the new Nasrid dynasty. In the Maghreb, Almohad power was weakened by the abrogation of the dogma of infallibility of the Mahdi by the caliph al-Ma’mun in 1232. The Almohads were confronted with the dismantling of their empire, which was divided up between their three successors, the Hafsids, the Abd al Wadids and the Marinids.

Y.B.

Qantara Qantara

Les Almohades (1130-1269)

Consulter la carte historique

L’œuvre de l’Empire almohade a profondément marqué l’histoire et l’art de l’Occident musulman. De son noyau initial dans les zones montagneuses de l’Anti-Atlas et du Haut-Atlas, le mouvement almohade réussit à fonder le plus vaste empire qu’ait jamais connu la partie occidentale du Dâr al-islâm, de la Tripolitaine à l’Atlantique, et englobant al-Andalus.

L’histoire des Almohades commence avec la prédication d’Ibn Tûmart, juriste berbère originaire de la tribu des Hargha. En s’insurgeant contre les Almoravides, et en s’indignant particulièrement contre la mainmise des juristes (fuqahâ’) malikites sur le pouvoir du souverain ‘Alî b. Yûsuf, Ibn Tûmart prône la réforme et professe une nouvelle doctrine, le tawhîd (l’unitarisme). Celle-ci propose une synthèse des apports de plusieurs courants musulmans, notamment l’ash`arisme et le chiisme, et prêche le retour aux sources fondamentales du droit musulman (Coran et sunna) afin de remplacer le recours aux compilations de jurisprudence, pratique prépondérante chez les juristes malikites. Ibn Tûmart se proclame ensuite Mahdî (Bien guidé), notion empruntée au chiisme, impliquant le caractère messianique de son mouvement, et lui octroyant l’impeccabilité (‘isma) nécessaire à la légitimation de son action.

Grâce à l’appui de certaines grandes tribus des Berbères Masmûda, Ibn Tûmart mobilise autour de lui une première communauté de fidèles, qui se fixe en 1124 à Tinmel. Doté d’une organisation hiérarchique inspirée des traditions communautaires berbères, le mouvement almohade entame une longue conquête du pouvoir. À sa mort en 1130, Ibn Tûmart lègue la direction du mouvement à ‘Abd al-Mû’min, véritable stratège et chef de guerre, et artisan de la victoire almohade sur les Almoravides. La chute de ces derniers avec la prise de Marrakech en 1147, ne met pas un terme à la conquête almohade, qui se poursuit par une lutte sans merci contre de nombreuses insurrections, et surtout par une extension de l’empire vers l’Ifrîqiya et al-Andalus. En imposant leur autorité sur les territoires conquis, les Almohades, à l’instar de leurs prédécesseurs, font de la lutte contre l’avancée chrétienne, normande en Ifrîqiya, portugaise et castillane en al-Andalus, un objectif fondamental. Les succès almohades ont permis ainsi de mettre fin à la première, et de retarder pour un temps la deuxième, notamment avec le succès d’Alarcos en 1195.

La grandeur de l’Empire almohade n’émane pas seulement de sa large expansion géographique. Forts de la légitimité que leur assure l’ « almohadisme », les souverains almohades, à commencer par ‘Abd al-Mû’min, se proclament califes et rompent ainsi avec la reconnaissance nominale de l’autorité abbasside respectée par les Almoravides. Le pouvoir califal repose sur une organisation étatique hiérarchisée et efficace, dans laquelle les sayyid, membres du clan mu’minide, et les ashyâkh, dignitaires des différentes tribus almohades, occupent une place de choix. Le message almohade est diffusé grâce à un corps de docteurs, talaba ou huffâz, chargés d’initier la population, en langue berbère, aux fondements du dogme almohade. Le monnayage almohade, avec son dinar double et surtout ses dirhams carrés, manifeste clairement cette volonté de rupture avec les standards antérieurs.

Dotés d’une importante flotte de guerre, les Almohades règnent sur un territoire où se développe une grande activité portuaire, notamment à Tunis, à Bougie et à Ceuta, ou encore sur l’Atlantique. Les échanges avec l’Occident chrétien, malgré la confrontation militaire en al-Andalus, sont continus, et les contacts diplomatiques, avec Pise ou Gênes par exemple, assurent les conditions nécessaires à une activité commerciale de plus en plus importante.

La force du projet politique et des capacités d’organisation administrative du régime almohade sont propices à de grands programmes d’urbanisation. Dans la capitale Marrakech une nouvelle cité palatiale, la Qasba, est aménagée. Séville, siège andalou de l’autorité califale almohade, connaît également d’importants chantiers dans les espaces palatiaux (le qasr ou Alcázar), et la construction d’une nouvelle grande mosquée. Ribât al-Fath (future Rabat), est la principale nouvelle fondation almohade, initiée par ‘Abd al-Mû’min et poursuivie par ses successeurs. Point de regroupement des armées almohades en partance vers al-Andalus, Rabat connaît sous les Almohades la construction d’une grande mosquée inachevée, la mosquée Hasan, aux dimensions inégalées dans l’histoire de l’Occident musulman médiéval. De très nombreuses autres villes du Maghreb et d’al-Andalus, comme Taza, Fès, Silves, Mertola, Siyâsa ou Saltès portent encore les traces d’une vie urbaine prospère. L’urbanisme almohade est marqué notamment par l’importance des systèmes de fortification urbaine, et l’intérêt particulier accordé à l’extension des zones de jardins péri-urbains grâce à l’aménagement des bahîra (jardins dotés de grands bassins d’eau), comme à Marrakech, Fès ou Séville.

L’expression artistique est sans doute un vecteur privilégié de l’idéologie almohade. Leur héritage dans le domaine de l’architecture religieuse est grandiose : parmi de très nombreux lieux de culte recensés au Maghreb et en al-Andalus, plusieurs grandes mosquées almohades sont de véritables chefs-d’œuvre. On en compte dans toutes les villes capitales de l’empire : à Marrakech d’abord, avec les deux Kutubiyya (1147 et 1158) et la mosquée de la Qasaba (vers 1197), à Séville ensuite, dotée d’une nouvelle grande mosquée après 1172. Les deux nouvelles fondations almohades, Taza et Rabat, sont pourvues chacune d’une grande mosquée, respectivement en 1135 et 1196-1197, sans oublier Tinmel, principal noyau du mouvement almohade, où une grande mosquée est construite vers 1153 pour cultiver le souvenir du Mahdî Ibn Tûmart. Ces principales réalisations relèvent d’un programme architectural cohérent et raisonné : les salles de prière sont disposées selon un plan en T, hérité des exemples classiques de Médine, Cordoue ou Kairouan. Les nefs sont perpendiculaires au mur de la qibla qui est précédé par une large nef transversale, alors que la nef axiale est toujours plus grande que les autres. Une série de coupoles, ornées de compositions de muqarnas, viennent mettre en valeur les nefs axiale et transversale, et marquent les points d’intersection entre cette dernière et les nefs longitudinales. La cour centrale (sahn), généralement délimitée par le prolongement des nefs latérales et par conséquent parfaitement intégrée dans la masse du bâtiment, assure l’équilibre de la composition architecturale. Le minaret constitue incontestablement l’organe le plus emblématique du programme esthétique des mosquées almohades. Les corps des hauts minarets sont décorés par une succession de registres variés qui associent des arcatures de formes diverses et des réseaux recticurvilignes qui tendent à occuper une place plus importante dans la forme aboutie du minaret almohade, comme on l’observe dans le minaret de la mosquée de la Qasba à Marrakech. Le haut de la tour est également ceinturé par une bande de carreaux de céramique posés sur des parements de bois.

Les portes monumentales urbaines font partie des éléments architecturaux particulièrement soignés par les Almohades. Il s’agit d’un véritable monument quadrangulaire, en saillie par rapport aux courtines des murailles et généralement flanqué de deux tours. Son franchissement se fait par une série de salles ou d’espaces découverts, généralement disposés en chicane. Certaines de ces portes (Bâb al-Rwâh et la porte des Udâya à Rabat ; Bâb Agnâw à Marrakech), offrent une ornementation élaborée qui tranche avec la sobriété habituelle. En effet, l’esthétique almohade a fait un usage particulier de l’ornement : il est généralement aéré, sobre, mais équilibré. L’austérité affichée par les Almohades constitue une réaction à l’exubérance de la décoration almoravide.

Par ailleurs, les arts mobiliers se développent d’une manière considérable sous les Almohades. Les tirâz, dont plusieurs exemples sont conservés en Espagne chrétienne, s’inscrivent dans la continuité de la production textile andalouse et ne semblent pas refléter l’austérité de la décoration architecturale almohade. Parmi les nombreux types de production céramique, l’esgrafiado (esgrafié) est sans doute le plus caractéristique, notamment dans la partie orientale d’al-Andalus où les plus beaux spécimens ont été trouvés.

Victime de ses propres contradictions et de l’importance grandissante de ses concurrents internes, le régime almohade s’écroule progressivement à la suite de la débâcle de Las Navas de Tolosa (al-‘Uqâb, 1212). La conquête chrétienne en al-Andalus s’accélère et les principales villes musulmanes tombent l’une après l’autre : Cordoue (1236), Valence (1238), Murcie (1243), ou encore Séville (1248). Seule une enclave musulmane autour du royaume de Grenade réussit à se maintenir sous l’égide de la nouvelle dynastie nasride. Au Maghreb, le pouvoir almohade, fragilisé sur le plan idéologique par l’abrogation du dogme de l’infaillibilité du Mahdî par le calife al-Mâ’mûn en 1232, est confronté au démembrement inévitable de son empire, que se partageront désormais, ses trois successeurs hafside, ‘abd al-wadide et marinide.

Y. B.


-->