Qantara Qantara

The Ayyubids (1174-1260)

Consult the historical map

The Ayyubid dynasty, which reigned over the Near-East from 1174 to 1260, was marked by a major figure: Saladin (Salah al-Din, r. 1169 - 1193). Born in 1183 in Takrit (Iraq), he was the son of Ayyub, the military governor of Kurdish origin who ruled over that town. He and his family left for Syria to work for Zengi, the master of Mosul and Aleppo, and later for his son, Nur ad-Din. In 1169 Saladin arrived in Egypt, at that time under the control of the waning Shiite Fatimid caliphate, to replace his uncle Shirkuh as vizier of Egypt and new commander-in-chief of the Syrian army. Two years later, in 1171, Saladin abolished the Fatimid caliphate and became master of the country, where he re-established a Sunnite power and declared allegiance to the Abbasid caliphate in Baghdad. Egypt thus became a major political centre from which Saladin could expand his reach, controlling progressively Syria, part of al-Jazirah and even Yemen.

Saladin distinguished himself particularly in his battles against the Crusaders: he was the champion of the Sunnite jihad. In this way, he recovered the government of Damascus in 1174, followed by those of Hama, Homs and Baalbek, despite opposition in northern Syria (Aleppo) and in Upper-Mesopotamia (Mosul). But the great victory of Saladin’s troops against the Franks took place at Hattin, near the Sea of Galilee, on July 4th 1187. His troops took on those of the King of Jerusalem, Guy de Lusignan, who was taken captive. Following this episode, Saladin’s army recaptured the cities of Tiberias, Nazareth, Sidon, Beirut, Gaza and Hebron, Acre and above all Jerusalem, which thus once again became Muslim after 88 years of Crusader occupation. This marked the collapse of the states of the Latin East, and it was this Muslim offensive that spurred the Franks to reconquer these territories by organising the Third Crusade, conducted between 1187 and 1192 par Barbarossa, Richard the Lionheart and Philippe Auguste.

In order to mark this reconquest, Ayyubid architects developed two main types of construction : fortresses and madrasahs (schools). Their role as defenders of the jihad is embodied in these austere constructions. They used sober materials, such as stone, and the use of varied colours sometimes remained the only decorative detail. Certain buildings were nonetheless embellished with rather discreet geometric or figurative carved motifs. Among the most significant examples to have come down to us, the citadel of Aleppo (beginning of the thirteenth century) remains one of the masterpieces of this defensive architecture. Towering over the city and surrounded by a glacis, it could only be entered by means of a long ramp, broken into sections by two massive stone gates. As for the madrasahs, they affirmed the Sunni Muslim faith, with their modestly-sized but very elegant buildings. Consisting of a courtyard surrounded by classrooms, they often opened into an iwân and contained a mihrab decorated with coloured stones formed into geometric interlaced patterns, as in the Madrasa Faradis in Aleppo (1235 - 1236). Already present in Syria, they spread into Egypt during this period.

Saladin can also be seen as the heir of a policy of territorial unification of the Near-East combined with a family-based conception of power. This often led to discord, which however was transcended by the common interest. The territory controlled by the Ayyubids was made up of a group of principalities organized around single cities, with the exception of Egypt, which was a unified country. He also restored economic stability, as well as trade-routes to the South (Sudan, Yemen) but also to Italy, all the while relying on a pre-existing military and organizational infrastructure.

This stability enabled the development of major artistic centres, often close to the seats of power. Mosul thus became the main centre for the production of metals luxuriously inlaid with gold, silver and sometimes copper, a technical innovation of this period. Other workshops were founded in Syria, notably in Damascus and doubtless at Aleppo. The artisans worked for the courts that commissioned them and moved about with them. Several craftsmen also signed their work, indicating their origin (nisba) : The city of Mosul (al-Mawsil) is mentioned regularly, even though these craftsmen no longer worked there. The motifs adorning these metals present a varied iconography, notably representing princely pleasures (hunting, musicians…) or the signs of the zodiac, but complemented by certain novel themes, such as field-labour. A certain number of pieces also bear perfectly identifiable Christian motifs: Virgins with Child, haloed saints …These motifs, doubtless drawn from the very numerous eastern Christian communities of that period, were reworked by the dinandiers.

As for their work in other artistic domains, little information has come down to us. Poles of ceramic-production probably existed in Northern Syria and in Cairo, though we have no definite description of them. Yet the objects produced were circulated with some success: pieces have been found in Italy in particular. Varied as to their forms, they bear decorative designs painted under glaze, displaying a newfound mastery in the use of the colour red. Thus we find jugs or cups with figurative and vegetal motifs of great elegance, in a range of colours using blue and black, in addition to red.

The techniques of glass-decoration were also evolving. Extra-transparent pieces (beakers, bottles…) bear an enamelled pattern. This technique, which pre-dated the reign of the Ayyubids, was honed in order to broaden the range of colours, and the use of gold became more widespread on the most luxurious items.

After Saladin’s death in 1193, his direct descendants were gradually pushed aside to make way for his brother, Al-Adil (r. 1200 - 1218), and then for Al-Kamil (r. 1218 - 1238). They continued his policies, preferring to negotiate with the Franks rather than to fight them, and restoring Jerusalem to Frederick II. The family solidarity that had prevailed until the reign of As-Salih (r. 1240 - 1249) dissolved in the face of the multitude of family rivalries. This latter ruler raised himself an army made of Turkish slaves who, seizing upon the internal squabbles of the Ayyubids, took power in Egypt on the death of the last Ayyubid in 1250. The new Mamluk dynasty was born.

A. C. –R.


-->

Qantara Qantara

Les Ayyubides (1174-1260)

Consulter la carte historique

La dynastie ayyubide, qui règne sur le Proche-Orient entre 1174 et 1260, est marquée par une figure majeure : Saladin (Salâh ad-Dîn, r. 1169 - 1193). Né en 1183 à Takrit (Irak), il est le fils de Ayyub, gouverneur militaire d’origine kurde qui règne sur cette ville. Il part avec sa famille en Syrie, travailler pour Zangî, maître de Mossoul et d’Alep, puis pour son fils, Nûr ad-Dîn. En 1169, Saladin arrive en Egypte, alors régie par le califat chiite fatimide déclinant, pour remplacer son oncle Shirkûkh comme vizir de l’Egypte et nouveau commandant en chef de l’armée de Syrie. Deux ans plus tard, en 1171, Saladin abolit le califat fatimide et devient le maître du pays, où il rétablit un pouvoir sunnite tout en faisant allégeance au calife abbasside de Baghdad. L’Egypte devient alors un pôle politique majeur à partir duquel Saladin va s’étendre, contrôlant progressivement la Syrie, une partie de la Jezireh et même le Yémen.

Saladin s’illustre particulièrement dans ses batailles contre les Croisés : c’est le champion du jihad sunnite. Ainsi, il récupère le gouvernement de Damas en 1174, puis celui de Hama, Homs et Baalbek, malgré des oppositions dans le nord de la Syrie (Alep) et en Haute-Mésopotamie (Mossoul). Mais la grande victoire des troupes de Saladin contre les Francs se déroule à Hattîn, près du lac de Tibériade, le 4 juillet 1187. Ses troupes affrontent celles du roi de Jérusalem, Guy de Lusignan, qui est fait prisonnier. A la suite de cet épisode, l’armée de Saladin reprend les villes de Tibériade, Nazareth, Sidon, Beyrouth, Gaza, Hébron, Acre et surtout Jérusalem, à nouveau musulmane après 88 ans d’occupation croisée. C’est l’effondrement des Etats latins d’Orient. Cette offensive musulmane incita les Francs à reconquérir ces territoires qui organisèrent la troisième croisade, menée entre 1187 et 1192 par Barberousse, Richard Cœur de Lion et Philippe Auguste.

Afin d’appuyer cette reconquête l’architecture ayyubide développe deux types principales de construction : les forteresses et les madrasas (écoles). Leur rôle de défenseur du jihad s’illustre dans ces constructions austères. Ils emploient des matériaux sobres, comme la pierre, où l’utilisation de couleurs variées demeure parfois le seul ornement. Certains édifices s’agrémentent néanmoins de motifs sculptés, géométriques ou figuratifs, assez discrets. Parmi les exemples les plus significatifs qui nous soient parvenus, la citadelle d’Alep (début du XIIIe siècle) reste l’un des chefs-d’œuvre de cette architecture défensive. Surplombant la ville et entourée d’un glacis, on n’y accède par une longue rampe, coupée de deux portes massives en pierre. Quand aux madrasas, elles affirment la foi musulmane sunnite, avec des bâtiments de taille modeste mais très élégants. Composées d’une cour entourée de salles de cours, elles s’ouvrent souvent sur un iwân et comporte un mihrab décoré de pierres colorées qui forment des entrelacs géométriques, comme dans la madrasa al-Firdaws à Alep (1235 - 1236). Déjà présentes en Syrie, elles se répandent alors en Egypte.

Saladin apparait aussi comme l’héritier d’une politique d’unification territoriale du Proche-Orient avec une conception familiale du pouvoir. Ceci entraine souvent des discordes, pourtant transcendées par l’intérêt général. Le territoire contrôlé par les Ayyubides se compose d’un ensemble de principautés, organisées autour d’une ville, à l’exception de l’Egypte, pays unifié. Il restaure également une économie stable, des routes commerciales avec le sud (Soudan, Yémen) mais aussi avec l’Italie, tout en s’appuyant sur une organisation militaire et administrative antérieure.

Cette stabilité permet le développement de centres artistiques importants, souvent proches du pouvoir. Mossoul devient ainsi le principal centre de production pour de luxueux métaux incrustés d’or, d’argent et parfois de cuivre rouge, innovation technique de cette période. D’autres ateliers voient le jour en Syrie, notamment à Damas et certainement à Alep. Les artistes travaillent pour les cours qui leur passent commande et se déplacent avec elles. Plusieurs artisans ont également signés leurs œuvres, en indiquant leur origine (nisba) : la ville de Mossoul (al-Mawsili) revient régulièrement, même si ces artisans n’y travaillaient plus. Les motifs décorant ces métaux présentent une iconographie variée, notamment celle illustrant les plaisirs princiers (chasse, musiciens…) ou les signes du zodiaque, mais agrémentée de certains thèmes inédits, comme les travaux des champs. Un certain nombre de pièces portent également des motifs chrétiens très reconnaissables : Vierges à l’Enfant, saints auréolés…Ces motifs, certainement issus des communautés chrétiennes orientales très nombreuses à cette époque, sont réinterprétés par les dinandiers.

Dans les autres domaines artistiques, peu d’informations nous sont parvenus. Des centres de productions de céramiques ont probablement existés dans le Nord de la Syrie et au Caire, sans être attestés avec certitude. Les objets produits se diffusent pourtant avec un certain succès : des pièces se retrouvent notamment en Italie. De formes variées, elles portent un décor peint sous glaçure utilisant avec une maîtrise nouvelle la couleur rouge. Cela donne ainsi des pichets ou des coupes aux motifs figuratifs et végétaux d’une grande élégance, dans une gamme chromatique utilisant, en plus du rouge, du bleu et du noir.

Les techniques de décor du verre évoluent également. Des pièces (gobelets, bouteilles…) d’une transparence accrue portent un décor émaillé. Cette technique, antérieure au règne des Ayyubides, se perfectionne afin d’élargir sa gamme colorée et l’utilisation de l’or se répand sur les pièces les plus luxueuses.

A la mort de Saladin en 1193, ses descendants directs sont progressivement écartés au profit de son frère, al-Adil (r. 1200 - 1218), puis d’al-Kamil (r. 1218 - 1238). Ils continueront sa politique en préférant les négociations aux combats contre les Francs, tout en restituant Jérusalem à Frédéric II. La solidarité familiale qui prévalait jusqu’au règne d’al-Salih (r. 1240 - 1249) disparut face aux nombreuses rivalités familiales. Ce dernier se constitua alors une armée composée d’esclaves turcs qui, face aux dissensions internes des Ayyubides, prirent le pouvoir en Egypte à la mort du dernier Ayyoubide en 1250. La nouvelle dynastie des Mameluks était née.

A. C. –R.


-->