Qantara Qantara

Minbar of the Great Mosque of Kairouan

  • Title/name : Minbar of the Great Mosque of Kairouan
  • Production place : Kairouan, Tunisia
  • Date / period : AH 248/AD 862
  • Materials and techniques : Carved teak, openwork, ironwork.
  • Dimensions : W. 3.93 m; H. 3.31 m
  • Conservation town : Kairouan
  • Conservation place : Great Mosque of Kairouan.

This gem of fine Ifriqiyan furniture is the oldest known preacher’s chair still in situ in the Islamic world. It is an eleven-step staircase made of teak wood imported from India and is composed of an assembly of over 300 sculpted parts. The exceptional ornamental richness of the panels testifies to the great variety of the repertoire from which the ornamentalist drew his models.

The minbar, which stands to the right of the mihrāb against the qibla wall, is said to symbolise the platform from which the Prophet addressed the faithful. It may also be a legacy of the raised throne on which the Sassanid commander in chief sat while reviewing his troops. Minbars, which are used by imams while delivering their sermons, may be wooden as here, but are also sometimes made of stone (as in the Ottoman and Indian world), brick (the Iranian world) or even cob (Libya).

Some authors claim that this minbar was not produced in Ifriqiya; to back up their claim they cite a text by Al-Tujibi[1] from Kairouan quoted by Ibn Naji and point to the delicacy of the cabinetwork. Like the lustre ceramic tiles of the mihrāb, these wooden panels, they maintain, come from Baghdad. The decoration – extremely varied and carved precisely and deeply to bring out the relief – borrows from several traditions. It may have been carved in part by Ifriqiyan cabinetmakers: it resembles the contemporaneous wooden springers found in the Ibn Khayrun Mosque in Kairouan (866) so strongly that this could be the case.

The main ornamentation is formed of 90 small rectangular panels with a diverse array of decoration, joined by bands filled with a uniform decoration of foliated scrolls. Grape leaves, superimposed pine cones, thin, supple stems, lanceolate fruits re-carved on the surface, and pear-shaped bunches that seem to support scrolled leaves are all aligned in a pure vegetal decoration. The same decoration is also arranged in compositions centred around a stylised tree, a soberly sketched vase and a piece of fruit. The geometric decoration formed by chequers, braids and grids is remarkably varied. Intertwining lines form either simple figures such as squares and diamonds or more complex ones such as Greek crosses, hooked crosses and stars. There are also panels with a mixture of motifs. Some are similar to the sculpted marble decoration of the mihrāb and to Tulunid Egyptian woodwork.

The decorative repertoire and the way the motifs are used are reminiscent of Umayyad art, which is found in the decorations of the palaces in the Syrian desert and whose roots draw their lifeblood from both classical Greco-Roman and Byzantine soil and Sassanid Iranian soil. There is little here that resembles contemporaneous Mesopotamian art and the style of Samarra. The panels where floral motifs are very limited and are used mainly to fill in the voids left by geometric figures should be compared to the openwork windows in the complex of Khirbat al-Mafjar (Jericho, Palestine, 724–743) or the ones from Umayyad monuments in Syria and Jordan (Qasr al-Hayr al-Gharbi, 724–727, Mshatta and al-Tuba, 743–744). The minbar in Kairouan attests to the persistence of this dual nature. The Hellenistic legacy is manifest in the panels trimmed with rigid or curved, plaited or latticework braids. The memory of Sassanid art, and in particular the sovereigns’ crown; is expressed in richer floral compositions and more vigorous relief: the pine cone wrapped in palm leaves, the stem raised in line with the panel, S-shaped whorls, open wings, and foliated scrolls forming ribbons. The Kairouan minbar is the product of a successful symbiosis between different traditions that can also be seen in a good number of productions of the Kairouan school in the brilliant Aghlabid era.

NOTE

[1] Ibn Naji, 1978, p. 147-148.

BIBLIOGRAPHY RELATED TO THE ITEM

Golvin L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, t. I, Paris, 1970, Klincksieck, p. 213.

Ibn Naji, Ma'âlim al-îmân fi ma'rifat ahl al-Qayrawân, t. II, Tunis, 1978, al-Maktaba al-Atiqa, p. 147-148.

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Golvin L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, t. III, Paris, 1974, Klincksieck.

Les Omeyyades : naissance de l'art islamique, Aix en Provence, 2000, Edisud.

Syrie, Mémoire et civilisation, (exh. cat., Paris, Institut du monde arabe, 1993), Paris, 1993, IMA, Flammarion, p. 418-419.



Transversal sheets
Aghlabids (800-909)
Aghlabids (800-909)
Wood
Wood
Geometric patterns
Geometric patterns
Plant patterns
Plant patterns
Shapes and patterns
Shapes and patterns
Furniture and religious objects
Furniture and religious objects
Religious life
Religious life
Artistic patronage
Artistic patronage
Power
Power
Products traded, slaves
Products traded, slaves
-->

Qantara Qantara

Minbar de la Grande Mosquée de Kairouan

  • Titre / dénomination : Minbar de la Grande Mosquée de Kairouan
  • Lieu de production : Kairouan, Tunisie
  • Date / période : 248 H./862 J.C.
  • Matériaux et techniques : Bois de teck sculpté, ajouré, ferrures
  • Dimensions : L : 3,93 m. ; H : 3,31 m
  • Ville de conservation : Kairouan
  • Lieu de conservation : Grande Mosquée de Kairouan

Ce joyau de l’art mobilier ifriqiyen est la plus ancienne chaire connue du monde islamique encore in situ. Confectionnée en bois de teck provenant du commerce indien ce minbar se présente sous la forme d’un escalier de onze marches ; il est composé de plus de 300 pièces sculptées et assemblées. Les panneaux sont d’une exceptionnelle richesse ornementale témoignant de l’extrême variété du répertoire dans lequel l’ornemaniste puise ses modèles.

Située à droite du mihrâb, adossée au mur de la qibla, cette chaire symboliserait l’estrade depuis laquelle le Prophète s’adressait aux fidèles. Elle serait peut-être aussi un héritage du trône surélevé depuis lequel le commandant en chef sassanide passait en revue ses troupes. Le minbar, utilisé par l’imam pour le prône, peut aussi bien être réalisé en bois comme ici, que parfois en pierre (monde ottoman et indien) ou en brique (monde iranien) ou même en pisé (Lybie).

Certains auteurs prétendent, en se référant à un texte du kairouanais Al-Tujibi[1] cité par Ibn Naji et à la finesse du travail de l’ébéniste, que ce minbar n'a pas été exécuté en Ifriqiya. Comme les carreaux de céramique lustrée du mihrab, ces panneaux proviendraient de Bagdad. Le décor sculpté, très précis et refouillé, extrêmement varié, s’inspire de plusieurs traditions. Peut-être a-t-il été en partie réalisé par des ébénistes ifriqiyens, tant sont grands les rapprochements avec les sommiers en bois contemporains trouvés à la Mosquée Ibn Khayrun à Kairouan (866).

L’essentiel de l’ornementation est formé de 90 petits panneaux rectangulaires aux décors variés réunis par des bandeaux à décor uniforme de rinceaux. On distingue un décor végétal pur,  constitué par des alignements de feuilles de vigne, de pommes de pin superposées, de tiges minces et souples, de fruits lancéolés resculptés en surface, et de grappes piriformes qui semblent supporter un feuillage en volutes. Le même décor végétal est aussi réparti selon des compositions axées organisées autour d’un arbre stylisé, d’un vase sobrement esquissé ou d’un fruit. Le décor géométrique formé par des damiers, des tresses et des grilles, se distingue par sa variété. Signalons seulement que les entrecroisements des lignes déterminent soit des figures simples (carrés, losanges), soit des figures plus complexes (grecques, svastika, étoiles). On observe aussi des panneaux à décor mixte. Certains sont proches du décor en marbre sculpté du mihrâb et aussi de bois tulunides égyptiens.

Le répertoire décoratif et le traitement des motifs évoquent l’art omeyyade, visible dans les décors des palais du désert syrien, dont les racines puisent leur sève à la fois dans le fond classique gréco-romain et byzantin et dans le fond iranien sassanide. En effet, peu de choses nous rappellent ici l’art contemporain mésopotamien et le style de Samarra. Les panneaux où la flore, très réduite, vient surtout combler les vides déterminés par les figures géométriques, sont à rapprocher de des claustra du complexe de Khirbat al-Mafjar (Jéricho, Palestine, 724-743) ou de ceux provenant de monuments omeyyades syriens et jordaniens (Qasr al-Hayr al-Gharbi, 724-727, Mshatta et al-Tuba, 743-744). Le minbar de Kairouan atteste de la persistance de cette dualité. Le legs hellénistique s’exprime à travers les panneaux à galons rigides ou courbes, tressés ou treillissés. Le souvenir de l’art sassanide, et en particulier celui de la couronne des souverains, s’affirme dans des compositions florales plus riches et un relief plus vigoureux, où figurent la pomme de pin enveloppée de palmes, la tige dressée dans l’axe du panneau, des enroulements en forme de S, des ailes ouvertes, des rinceaux formant rubans. Ainsi, le minbar de Kairouan offre une symbiose réussie entre différentes traditions, que l’on retrouve aussi dans bon nombre de productions de l’école de Kairouan de la brillante époque aghlabide.

NOTE

[1] Ibn Naji, 1978, p. 147-148.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE DE L'OBJET

Golvin L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, t. I, Paris, 1970, Klincksieck, p. 213.

Ibn Naji, Ma'âlim al-îmân fi ma'rifat ahl al-Qayrawân, t. II, Tunis, 1978, al-Maktaba al-Atiqa, p. 147-148.

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Golvin L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, t. III, Paris, 1974, Klincksieck.

Les Omeyyades : naissance de l'art islamique, Aix en Provence, 2000, Edisud.

Syrie, Mémoire et civilisation, (cat. exp., Paris, Institut du monde arabe, 1993), Paris, 1993, IMA, Flammarion, p. 418-419.



Transversalités associées
Aghlabides (800-909)
Aghlabides (800-909)
Bois
Bois
Motifs géométriques
Motifs géométriques
Motifs végétaux
Motifs végétaux
Formes et motifs
Formes et motifs
Meubles et objets religieux
Meubles et objets religieux
Vie religieuse
Vie religieuse
Patronage artistique
Patronage artistique
Pouvoir
Pouvoir
Produits échangés, les esclaves
Produits échangés, les esclaves
-->