Qantara Qantara

The Nasrid Dynasty (1232 – 1492)

Consult the historical map

The Nasrid dynasty was founded in 1232 by Muhammad ibn Yûsuf ibn Nasr ibn al-Ahmar, a military leader from the Jaen region. This period was marked by Christian attempts to re-conquer the al-Andalus territories and the end of the Almohad dynasty. He installed his capital in Granada from 1237 and concentrated on defending modest territories, which included the cities of Malaga and Almeria. The early Nasrid emirs spent this period consolidating their positions against the Castilians, whose sovereignty they were obliged to recognise and to whom they had to pay tribute and occasionally supply armed forces. They nevertheless managed to take advantage of the differences between the Castilians and the Catalo-Aragonites as well as forming irregular alliances with the Abd al-Wadids of Tlemcen and more often the Marinids of Morocco, who on several occasions attacked Castilian positions at the end of the thirteenth century and during the first half of the fourteenth century. The emirs of Granada were victorious in important battle, on a floodplain known as the ‘Vega de Granada’ in 1319, with the help of Moroccan forces and during which two of the children of the Castilian dynasty perished. This period was also marked by the re-conquest of Algeciras and Gibraltar. The dynasty reached its political and cultural zenith during the reign of Muhammad V (r. 1354 – 1391), which enjoyed a long period of peace due to the weakened state of both the Castilian kingdom and the Maranid sultans.

The Nasrid emirate took full advantage of a relatively large population due to the arrival of Muslims fleeing the Christian re-conquests. The available land was intensively farmed and even if a shortage of wheat led to importation from North Africa, the kingdom of Granada exported its dried fruits, sugar and silk. Genoese traders occupied a privileged position in the ports of Malaga and Almeria.

From an intellectual, scientific and literary point of view, conservatism was the order of the day. The Sufi mysticism, which had developed during the thirteenth century around Murcia, was counterbalanced by the strict orthodoxy of Malikism. The most important intellectual figure was without a doubt Ibn al-Khatib, who before being exiled to Morocco and executed in 1375 was secretary then Vizier to Muhammad V. His work touched on a wide range of subjects including religious science, medicine, philosophy, poetry and history. One of his pupils, Ibn Zamrak (d. 1394), who eventually took over his position of Vizier, initiated the golden age of al-Andalus poetry. His work has been left for posterity as decoration of the walls of the Alhambra.

The construction of the palace of the Alhambra was started at the very beginning of the Nasrid dynasty. It was built on a rocky outcrop, which dominates the city of Granada, and has been modified and embellished many times over the centuries. It is surrounded by imposing fortified walls punctuated by towers and is divided into military and administrative quarters and different pavilions for the princely occupants. These pavilions, whose rooms are relatively simple, are surrounded by luxurious gardens and ornamental ponds, which are a clear reference to a future paradise.

The sumptuous reigns of Yusuf 1st (r. 1333 – 1354) and Muhammad V both left a distinct mark on the site with the construction of the famous Comares Palace and the Patio of the Lions as well as the extraordinary domed chambers known as the Hall of the Two Sisters and the Hall of the Abencerrajes.

The astonishing blend of ceramic panels, sculpted stucco and ornamental woodwork add even greater refinement to the decorative grammar we find in the Maghreb, throughout the great constructions of the Abd al-Wadids in Tlemcen or of the Marinids in Fez or Marrakech. The influence of the Maghreb is also felt in the layout and illumination of handwritten examples of the Koran, in the preference for a square format, the insistence on the continued use of parchement and the characteristic use of geometric patterns on the frontispiece.

Leaf motifs, calligraphy and the geometric patterns of the Alhambra stuccos all found their way onto brightly coloured, woven silk cloth, with red and yellow predominant.

On one example, conserved in Cleveland, we find the Nasrid motto “Lâ ghâlib ilâ Allâh” (There is no victor other than God), which is found on countless objects and decorations often in the form of a heraldic shield, undoubtedly due to Christian influence. These luxurious bolts of cloth were exported to the courts of European princes – sometimes in the form of a tribute. Their manufacture continued even after the fall of the kingdom of Granada. The continuity between the Muslim period and the dominance of the Christians can also be seen in the creation of metallic lusterware ceramics. In al-Andalus, this craft seems to have its roots in the twelfth century and was greatly developed during the Nasrid dynasty. Malaga became a major centre of production and its wares were exported both to Europe and the Orient as the fragments found in Cairo, Alexandria, Syria, Istanbul and even in Beaucaire in the south of France testify. Among the most spectacular creations, are the famous monumental “Alhambra” vases, with their handles in the form of wings, some of which were found on the site of the palace itself. The manufacture of lusterware ceramics continued long after the fall of the Granada emirate and became known as “Hispano-Moorish” ware, with its production centred in Valencia, Paterna and Manises.

The craft of the goldsmiths is also a testament to the refinement of the Nasrid court: Sword-handles, belt ornaments, and necklaces all use gold filigree with virtuosity, often associated with enamel, further proof of exchange with the Christian kingdoms.

Whereas the artistic achievements of the epoch seem to have continued well into the fifteenth century, the political situation became more and more instable, partly due to internal feuding within the Nasrid family, but also to the intrigues of the powerful Banu Sarraj (Abencerrajes) clan. The final century of the Nasrid dynasty was fraught with political convulsions with only short periods of stability, while empowered by the Castillo-Aragonite alliance of 1479, the Christian noose gradually tightened until Boabdil signed the surrender of Granada on 2nd January 1492 signalling the end of Muslim domination in al-Andalus.

C.J.

Qantara Qantara

Les Nasrides (1232–1492)

Consulter la carte historique

Née de la fragmentation du territoire andalou à la fin de la période almohade, dans un contexte de reconquête chrétienne, la dynastie nasride est fondée en 1232 par Muhammad ibn Yûsuf ibn Nasr ibn al-Ahmar, un chef militaire originaire de la région de Jaén. Dès 1237, il installe sa capitale à Grenade, et organise les défenses d'un territoire modeste englobant les villes de Málaga et d’Almería. Les premiers émirs nasrides s'emploient à consolider leur position face aux Castillans, dont ils sont obligés malgré tout de reconnaître la suzeraineté et à qui ils doivent fournir tribut et contingent armé occasionnel. Ils réussissent néanmoins à tirer parti de la division entre les Castillans et les Catalo-Aragonais et s'allient par intermittence aux Abd al-Wadides de Tlemcen et surtout aux Marinides du Maroc, qui attaquent à plusieurs reprises les positions castillanes entre la fin du XIIIe et la première moitié du XIVe siècle. Les émirs grenadins remportent notamment une importante victoire, dite de la Vega de Grenade, en 1319, avec l'aide de contingents marocains, au cours de laquelle périssent deux infants de Castille. Cette période faste fut également marquée par la reprise d'Algésiras et de Gibraltar. Le règne de Muhammad V (1354-1391), qui profite d’une longue paix suite à l'affaiblissement du royaume castillan et à celui des sultans Marinides, constitue l'apogée politique et culturel de la dynastie.

L'émirat nasride est riche d'une population importante, par l'afflux de musulmans fuyant la Reconquête et l'ensemble des terres disponibles est exploité de manière intensive. Si le déficit en blé contraint à des importations d’Afrique du Nord, le royaume de Grenade exporte abondamment ses fruits secs et le sucre, ainsi que des soieries. Les Gênois, partenaires commerciaux privilégiés, sont très présents dans les ports de Málaga et d’Almería.

Sur le plan intellectuel, scientifique et littéraire, un certain conservatisme est de mise. Une stricte orthodoxie malikite s'impose, qui combat les tendances soufies mystiques qui s'étaient développées au XIIIe siècle, autour de Murcie. La figure intellectuelle dominante est sans conteste Ibn al-Khatîb, secrétaire puis vizir sous Muhammad V, avant d'être contraint à l'exil au Maroc et finalement exécuté en 1375. Son œuvre encyclopédique aborde aussi bien les sciences religieuses, la médecine que la philosophie, la poésie et l'histoire. Un de ses élèves, Ibn Zamrak (m. 1394), qui lui succède au vizirat, entame le chant du cygne de la poésie andalouse. Ses compositions ornant les murs de l'Alhambra lui ont assuré gloire et postérité.

La résidence palatiale de l'Alhambra, bâtie sur un promontoire rocheux dominant la ville de Grenade dès la fondation de la dynastie, fut modifiée et embellie au cours des siècles. Ceinte par d'imposantes murailles ponctuées de tours, elle se décompose en quartiers militaires, administratifs et différents pavillons princiers, dont les volumes simples, ajourés de portiques, sont dispersés au milieu de jardins et de pièces d’eau aux connotations clairement paradisiaques. Les règnes fastueux de Yûsuf Ier (1333-1354) et de Muhammad V ont marqué le site d'une forte empreinte, avec la construction des fameux patio de Comares et palais des Lions, ainsi que les extraordinaires salles à coupole dites des Deux-Sœurs et des Abencérages. Mêlant avec une virtuosité éblouissante les panneaux de céramique, les stucs sculptés et les boiseries, les intérieurs de l'Alhambra portent à un extrême raffinement une grammaire décorative que l'on retrouve au Maghreb, à partir de la fin du XIIIe siècle, dans les grandes réalisations des Abd al-Wadides à Tlemcen ou des Marinides à Fès et Marrakech. Une même parenté maghrébine se retrouve dans la mise en page et l'enluminure des manuscrits coraniques, privilégiant un format plutôt carré, l'emploi prolongé du parchemin et des frontispices à décor géométrique caractéristiques.

Les motifs végétaux, calligraphiques ou géométriques des stucs de l'Alhambra se trouvent transposés sur des tentures de soie façonnées, aux couleurs éclatantes où prédominent le rouge et le jaune. Sur l'une d'elles, conservée au musée de Cleveland, se déploie la devise nasride « Lâ ghâlib ilâ Allâh » ( « Il n’y a de vainqueur que Dieu »), présente sur de nombreux objets et décors, et qui prend souvent la forme d’un blason, sans doute sous influence chrétienne. Ces textiles de grand luxe étaient importés dans les cours princières européennes – parfois sous la forme de tributs. Leur fabrication a continué après la chute du royaume de Grenade. Cette continuité entre la période musulmane et la domination chrétienne s'illustre aussi à travers la production des céramiques à décor de lustre métallique. Celle-ci semble débuter en al-Andalus aux alentours du XIIe siècle et connaît un bel épanouissement à l'époque nasride. Málaga s'affirme alors comme un centre de production extrêmement dynamique, dont les pièces s'exportent aussi bien en Europe qu'en Orient, comme l’attestent des fragments trouvés au Caire, à Alexandrie mais aussi en Syrie, à Istanbul ou encore à Beaucaire, dans le sud de la France. Parmi ses réalisations les plus spectaculaires figurent les fameux vases monumentaux dits « de l’Alhambra », aux anses en forme d'ailes, dont certains ont été retrouvés sur le site palatial même. La fabrication de céramiques à décor de lustre métallique se prolonge bien au-delà de la chute de l’émirat de Grenade, avec la production dite « hispano-mauresque », issue des centres de Valence, Paterne et Manisès.

Enfin, le travail d'orfèvrerie atteste lui aussi du raffinement de la cour nasride : des poignées d'épée, des ornements de ceinture, des éléments de colliers utilisent avec virtuosité l'or filigrané, souvent associé à l'émail, témoignage là encore d'échanges avec les royaumes chrétiens.

Alors que les productions artistiques semblent se maintenir au cours du XVe siècle, la situation politique devient de plus en plus préoccupante et l’instabilité politique grandit, du fait des luttes internes à la famille nasride, auxquelles s’ajoutent les intrigues du puissant clan des Banû Sarraj (Abencérages). Le dernier siècle nasride se débat entre convulsions successives, courtes périodes de répit et derniers soubresauts, tandis que l’étau chrétien, fort de l’alliance castillo-aragonnaise réalisée en 1479, se resserre inéluctablement jusqu’à la reddition de Grenade, signée par Boabdil le 2 janvier 1492, signant la fin de toute domination musulmane en al-Andalus.

C. J.


-->