Qantara Qantara

Original minaret of the mosque of Árchez

  • Name : Original minaret of the mosque of Árchez
  • Place : Province of Málaga, Spain
  • Construction date/period : Thirteenth-fifteenth century
  • Construction materials : Bricks, masonry; decorated with bricks, glazed ceramic tiles, and paint
  • Dimensions : Side: 3.64m; height: 15m
  • Restoration :

    The minaret of Árchez was restored in 1989 by the cultural committee of the Andalusian Autonomous Government, which carried out the project of the architect José Ramon Cruz del Campo. It was declared a listed building in 1979.

The minaret, located in Pilar street in the centre of Árchez, was built in the thirteenth to fourteenth centuries. However, the Mudéjar church, which dates from the fifteenth century, was built on the former site of the mosque. When the church was completed, the minaret was transformed into a bell tower.

This Nasrid minaret is one of the finest examples in the Iberian Peninsula. The minaret has a square plan and its current entrance is higher than was originally the case. It is comprised of an initial masonry structure resting on a bed of bricks. On this structure are two other structures, which are more richly decorated than the first. There is a bell tower at the top of the tower, built at a later date. Inside, a spiral stairway with a rampant cradle vault is linked to the corners of the construction by ribs. The minaret is richly decorated. There are ribbed motifs on its north, south, and west façades, and each side is decorated with a pattern of shaped bricks, whose ovoid chain links turn into rings on the last line. Originally, this network developed from small slim columns that have now disappeared. Inside the chain links are the remains of a red pigment, suggesting there may have been a painted vegetal decoration. A frieze of ovoid ceramic tiles painted blue on a white background, separate these large panels from the upper section ornamented with small horseshoe arches that intersect by forming pointed arches, which also have traces of red paint used for geometric decoration.

This construction is typical of the minarets of mosques built in Muslim Spain and North Africa. The minaret's decoration and architecture suggest it was influenced by Almohad minarets in the Iberian Peninsula (the best surviving example is the Giralda in Sevilla), and North Africa. There are many similarities with several Moroccan minarets. The finest contemporary Andalusian example is the mosque of San Juan de los Reyes in Granada (as in Árchez, the mosque no longer exists). Similarities with contemporary North African[1] minarets have led some writers to suggest that these architectural works can be considered as the work of craftsmen from workshops in Malaga, who came to work for the Marinids in Africa.

NOTE

[1] The a-Banat minaret in Ksar el Kebir and the Almohad minaret in Salé (twelfth century).

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Jimenéz, A., La arquitectura en Al-Andalus. Documentos para el siglo XXI, Grenade, Barcelone, 1995, Fundación El Legado Andalusí-Lunwerg.

López Guzmán, R., Arquitectura de al-Andalus : Almería, Granada, Jaén, Málaga, Grenade, 2002, Fundación El Legado Andalusí, Comares.

Diario Sur, Málaga, disponible sur : <http://www.canales.diariosur.es/pueblos/archez">www.canales.diariosur.es/pueblos/archez>, (consulté le 10/10/08).

Diócesis de Málaga , disponible sur : <www.diocesismalaga.es>, (consulté le 10/10/08). 

Sociedad de Planificación y Desarrollo SOPDE S.A. [en ligne], disponible sur : <www.webmalaga.com/cultura/monumentos>, (consulté le 10/10/08).



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT

Qantara Qantara

Ancien minaret de la mosquée d’Archez

  • Nom : Ancien minaret de la mosquée d’Archez
  • Lieu : Province de Malaga, Espagne
  • Date/période de construction : XIIIe-XVe siècle
  • Matériaux de construction : Briques, maçonnerie ; décor de briques, de carreaux de céramique glaçurés et de peinture
  • Dimensions : Côté : 3, 64 m ; H. : 15 m
  • Restauration :

    Le minaret d’Archez a été restauré  en 1989 par le Conseil de la Culture de la Junte andalouse, qui a suivi le projet de l’architecte José Ramon Cruz del Campo. Il fut déclaré Monument Historique et Artistique du Patrimoine National, en 1979.

Le minaret, situé rue du Pilar au centre d’Archez,  a certainement été édifié aux XIIIe-XIVe siècles, tandis que l’église de type mudéjar, qui date du XVe siècle, a été construite sur l’emplacement de l’ancienne mosquée. L’église une fois achevée, le minaret a été transformé en tour campanaire par l’adjonction d’un clocher.

Ce minaret nasride est l’un des mieux conservés de la péninsule Ibérique. De plan carré, son entrée actuelle est située à un niveau plus élevé qu’à l’origine. Il est constitué d’un premier corps de maçonnerie prenant appui sur un lit de briques. Sur ce premier corps s’élèvent les deux autres, où se concentre la décoration. La tour se termine par un clocher, construit à une date plus tardive. A l’intérieur un escalier à vis voûté en berceau continu est relié aux angles de la construction par des arêtes. Le minaret est revêtu d’un riche décor. Sur ses façades nord, sud et ouest, il présente des motifs en arêtes et s’orne sur chacune de ses faces d’un réseau en briques taillées, dont les mailles ovoïdes se transforment en anneaux sur la dernière ligne. A l’origine, ce réseau s’échappait de fines colonnettes aujourd’hui disparues. A l’intérieur des mailles subsistent des traces de pigments rouges laissant deviner un décor végétal peint. Une frise de carreaux de céramiques ovoïdes, bleus sur fond blanc, sépare ces grands panneaux du registre supérieur paré de petits arcs outrepassés qui s’entrecroisent en formant des arcs brisés qui abritent également des traces de pigment rouge destiné à un décor géométrique.

Cette construction s’inscrit dans la typologie des minarets de mosquée, tels qu’ils furent conçus en Espagne musulmane et en Afrique du Nord. Par sa décoration et son architecture, il est l’héritier des minarets almohades de la péninsule Ibérique (le mieux conservé est celui de la Giralda de Séville) et d’Afrique du Nord. Il présente de nombreuses similitudes avec plusieurs minarets marocains. Parmi ses contemporains andalous, le plus proche est celui de la mosquée San Juan de los Reyes à Grenade (comme à Archez, la mosquée n’existe plus). Ses similitudes avec les minarets contemporains d’Afrique du Nord[1] ont conduits certains auteurs à supposer que tous ces ouvrages peuvent être considérés comme des réalisations d’artisans issues des ateliers de Málaga venus s’établir en Afrique auprès des Marinides.  

NOTE

[1] Minaret a-Banat de Qsar el-Kebir et minaret almohade de Salé (XIIe siècle)

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Jimenéz, A., La arquitectura en Al-Andalus. Documentos para el siglo XXI, Grenade, Barcelone, 1995, Fundación El Legado Andalusí-Lunwerg.

López Guzmán, R., Arquitectura de al-Andalus : Almería, Granada, Jaén, Málaga, Grenade, 2002, Fundación El Legado Andalusí/Comares.

Diario Sur, Málaga, disponible sur : <http://www.canales.diariosur.es/pueblos/archez">www.canales.diariosur.es/pueblos/archez>, (consulté le 10/10/08).

Diócesis de Málaga , disponible sur : <www.diocesismalaga.es>, (consulté le 10/10/08). 

Sociedad de Planificación y Desarrollo SOPDE S.A. [en ligne], disponible sur : <www.webmalaga.com/cultura/monumentos>, (consulté le 10/10/08).



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT