Qantara Qantara

the Kutubīyah Mosque

  • Name : the Kutubīyah Mosque
  • Place : Kutubīyah Mosque Location: Marrakech, Morocco
  • Construction date/period : AD 1160 and 1195
  • Construction materials : Stone, brick, and wood
  • Architectural pattern : ceramics, plaster, and wood
  • Dimensions : Perimeter of the prayer-hall: 305m; courtyard: 46m x 18.75m; minaret height 69.50m x 12.80m

The Kutubīyah Mosque (the ‘Booksellers’ mosque[1]) was constructed after the fall of the Almoravids and the triumphant entry of the Almohads into the capital Marrakech, in 1147. There, they destroyed the religious buildings constructed by the Almoravids and constructed new sanctuaries[2]. ‘Abd al-Mu’min[3] decided to construct a grand mosque on the very spot where the Almoravid palace of ‘Alī ibn Yūsuf stood.

The Kutubīyah underwent two major construction phases. Very little remains of the initial building  (it was badly orientated in relation to Mecca). The second phase (the current building) used the same plan and a minaret was erected in the south-eastern corner. The mosque was built on a trapezoidal plan and is one of the foremost sanctuaries in the Maghrib. Its prayer room has seventeen naves perpendicular to the qibla, which is set out, like the mosque at Tinmel and Kairouan, in a T-shaped plan. This type of plan was already common in Mesopotamia in the ninth century, in the Abu Dulaf Mosque, in the city of Sāmarra (Iraq). This layout was made possible by two naves enlarged with five domes, one nave being in the mihrab’s axis, the other being parallel and transversal to the qibla wall. This structure may be the legacy of the Fātimids, who already placed naves before the qibla and enlarged them with domes at the end of the tenth century. K.A.C. Creswell suggests that three domes topped the transversal nave of the al-Hākim Mosque in Cairo. Four vast galleries in the courtyard are part of the extension of the lateral naves, which is an identical layout to that of the Abu Dulaf Mosque. The prayer-hall is entered through six lateral doors, all of which are protected by an imposing projecting doorway.

The mihrab in the centre of the qibla wall is constituted of a niche that opens into a horseshoe arch, surrounded by two concentric arches in a rectangular band framing an arch (alfiz), whose spandrels are adorned with projecting rosettes. This Islamic decoration is characteristic of Spanish Islamic art and was transmitted this way to the Christians in the West. The springs of the arch rest on abaci supported by Umayyad capitals that had previously been used in Almoravid architecture. The niche’s interior is covered with an octagonal muqarnas dome, which, along with those of the transversal nave and two domes at Tinmel, is the only remaining Almohad specimen in Morocco. Above the mihrab, arcading enlivens the surface.

The arches of the transversal nave and the last arch of the axial nave are adorned with muqarnas. The other arches (pointed north arches) in the prayer-hall are supported by quadrangular pillars made from brick and covered in plaster, and entirely undecorated. The weight of all these supporting structures is lightened by false engaged columns topped with capitals. The latter have floral decorations arranged in two rows of flat acanthus, the lower row sometimes becoming a flat meandering ribbon. The capitals near the mihrab are the exception. There is a greater range of fingers on the acanthus leaves, whose style may be more ancient but exceptionally fine. The Kutubīyah capitals, like those at Tinmel, shed light on the beginnings of Andalusian-Maghrebian capitals that came from the composite capitals used on a grand scale in eleventh-century caliphate art. There are many similarities with the work in the Aljaferia palace in Zaragoza (eleventh century) where the rich decorations of palm leaves cover the squared Córdoban capital. The vigorous, sober, and hierarchical decorations in the Kutubīyah prayer-hall are part of the same tradition as those of Tinmel.

NOTE

[1] Its name comes from the bookshops that used to exist on the square, in front of the entry door.

[2] The author of Bayan recounted that one of the first decisions taken by the new masters of Marrakech was the demolition of Almoravid religious edifices and the construction of new sanctuaries. This decision followed an ancient instruction of the spiritual leader of the Almohads, al-Mahdī ibn Tūmart, who wanted no one to enter Marrakech before its purification.

[3] The first caliph of the Almohad dynasty (reigned 1130–1163).

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Basset, H.; Terrasse, H., ‘Sanctuaires et forteresses almohades’, in Hespéris, No. V, Paris: Institut des Hautes Études Moroccoaines/Larose, 1925, pp. 311376; VI, pp. 107270; VII, pp. 117171, 287345.

Cenival, P. de, ‘Marrâkushī’ in Encyclopédie de l’Islam, vol. VI, new edition, Leyde/Paris: E. J. Brill/Maisonneuve & Larose, pp. 573-582.

Creswell, K.A.C., The Muslim Architecture of Egypt, vol. I, Ikhshīds and Fātimids, New York: Hacker Art Books, 1978, pp. 65106.

Deverdun, G.., Marrakech des origines à 1912, Rabat: Techniques Nord Africaines, 1959.

Golvin, L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, l’art hispano-musulman, vol. 4,  Paris: Klincksieck, 1979.

Hassar-Bensliman, J., et al., ‘Tinmal 1981, fouille de la mosquée almohade’, in Bulletin  d’Archéologie  Moroccoaine, vol. XIV, 19811982, pp. 277312.

Marçais, G., l’Architecture musulmane d’Occident, Paris: Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1954.

Meunié, J., Recherches archéologiques à Marrakech, Paris: Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1952.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT

Qantara Qantara

Mosquée Kutubiyya

  • Nom : Mosquée Kutubiyya
  • Lieu : Marrakech, Maroc
  • Date/période de construction : 1160 et 1195
  • Matériaux de construction : Pierre, brique, bois
  • Décor architectural : Céramique, plâtre, bois
  • Dimensions : Périmètre de la salle de prière : 305 m ; cour : 46 x 18,75 m ; minaret : H. 69,50 x 12,80 m

La mosquée Kutubiyya (des Libraires[1]) fut construite après la chute des Almoravides et l’entrée glorieuse des Almohades dans la capitale Marrakech, en 1147. Ils y détruisirent les édifices religieux almoravides et entreprirent la construction de nouveaux sanctuaires[2]. ‘Abd al-Mu’min[3], décida de construire une grande mosquée sur l’emplacement même du palais almoravide de ‘Alî ibn Yûsuf.

La Kutubiyya connut deux grandes phases de construction. De la première fondation (mal orientée par rapport à la Mecque) ne restent que quelques vestiges. La seconde phase (bâtiment actuel) reprend le même plan et un minaret est érigé dans l’angle sud-est. La mosquée, de plan trapézoïdal, est l’un des plus grands sanctuaires du Maghreb. Sa salle de prière compte dix-sept nefs perpendiculaires à la qibla, dont la disposition reproduit, comme à la mosquée de Tinmal et de Kairouan, un plan en T. Ce type de plan est déjà connu en Mésopotamie au IXe siècle, à la mosquée d’Abu Dulaf, dans la ville de Samarra (Irak). Ce dispositif est crée par deux nefs magnifiées rythmées de cinq coupoles, l’une dans l’axe du mihrâb, l’autre transversale et parallèle au mur de la qibla. Cette structure est peut-être un héritage des Fatimides, chez lesquels on rencontre déjà des nefs placées devant la qibla et magnifiées de coupoles à la fin du Xe siècle. K.A.C. Creswell suppose que trois coupoles surmontaient la nef transversale de la mosquée al-Hâkim du Caire. Quatre vastes galeries de part et d’autre de la cour s’inscrivent dans le prolongement des nefs latérales, schéma identique à celui de la mosquée d’Abu Dulaf. On accède à la salle de prière par six portes latérales, toutes protégées par d’imposants avant-corps.

Le mihrâb au centre du mur qibli est constitué d’une niche qui s’ouvre par un arc en fer à cheval, circonscrit d’un arc polylobé placé dans un encadrement rectangulaire enserrant un arc (alfiz), aux écoinçons ornés de rosettes saillantes. Cet ornement islamique est caractéristique de l’architecture islamique en Espagne et est transmis par ce biais aux chrétiens d’Occident. Les retombées de l’arc reposent sur des abaques supportées par des chapiteaux omeyyades remployés, que l’on rencontre déjà dans l’architecture almoravide. L’intérieur de la niche est couvert d’une coupole octogonale à muqarnas qui constitue, avec celles de la nef transversale et les deux coupoles de Tinmal, les seuls spécimens almohades encore debout au Maroc. Au dessus du mihrâb, cinq arcatures animent la surface.

Les arcs de la nef transversale et le dernier arc de la nef axiale sont ornés de muqarnas. Les autres arcs de la salle de prière, brisés outrepassés, sont supportés par des piliers quadrangulaires en briques enduites de plâtre et ne présentent pas de décor. La masse de ces organes de support est allégée par de fausses colonnettes engagées surmontées de chapiteaux. Ces derniers présentent un décor floral qui s’organise en deux rangées d’acanthe plate, la rangée inférieure se réduisant parfois à un simple ruban formant un méandre. Les chapiteaux proches du mihrâb font exception. Les feuilles d’acanthe y offrent une digitation plus variée dont le style est certes archaïsant mais assez fin. Les chapiteaux de la Kutubiyya, comme ceux de Tinmal, permettent de comprendre la genèse du chapiteau andalou-maghrébin, issu du type composite à bandeau utilisé à grande échelle dans l’art du califat et au XIe siècle. On rencontre de nombreuses affinités avec les œuvres du palais de l’Aljaferia de Saragosse (XIe siècle) où le riche décor de palmes couvre l’épannelage du chapiteau cordouan. Le décor de la salle de prière de la Kutubiyya s’inscrit dans la tradition de celui de Tinmal : vigoureux, sobre et hiérarchisé.

NOTE

[1] Elle doit son nom aux boutiques de libraires qui étaient auparavant installées sur le parvis, devant son entrée.

[2] C’est l’auteur du Bayan qui rapporte que l’une des premières décisions prises par les nouveaux maîtres de Marrakech fut la démolition des édifices religieux almoravides et la construction de nouveaux sanctuaires, décision qui faisait suite à une ancienne instruction du chef spirituel des Almohades, al-Mahdî ibn Tûmart, qui voulait que l’on n’entre pas à Marrakech avant de la purifier.

[3] Premier calife de la dynastie almohade (r. 1130-1163).

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Basset, H., Terrasse, H., « Sanctuaires et forteresses almohades », in Hespéris, n° V, Paris : Institut des Hautes Études Marocaines, Larose, 1925, p. 311-376 ; VI, p. 107-270 ; VII, p. 117-171, 287-345.

Cenival, P. de, « Marrâkushî » in Encyclopédie de l’Islam, t. VI, nouvelle édition, Leyde, Paris, E. J. Brill, Maisonneuve & Larose, p. 573-582.

Creswell, K.A.C., The Muslim Architecture of Egypt, Vol. I, Ikhshîds and Fâtimids, New York, Hacker Art Books, 1978, p. 65-106.

Deverdun, G., Marrakech des origines à 1912, Rabat, Techniques Nord Africaines, 1959.

Golvin, L., Essai sur l’architecture religieuse musulmane, l’art hispano-musulman, vol .4,  Paris, Klincksieck, 1979.

Hassar-Bensliman, J., et al., « Tinmal 1981, fouille de la mosquée almohade », in Bulletin  d’Archéologie  Marocaine, t. XIV, 1981-1982, p. 277-312.

Marçais, G., l’Architecture musulmane d’Occident, Paris, Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1954.

Meunié, J., Recherches archéologiques à Marrakech, Paris, Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1952.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT