Qantara Qantara

The “Byzantine du Louvre” collection

  • Title/name : The “Byzantine du Louvre” collection
  • Author : Philippe Labbé (1607–1667), Charles Du Cange (1610–1688) and other Hellenists and religious scholars
  • Production place : Paris, France
  • Date / period : Seventeenth century  
  • Materials and techniques : Printed books
  • Conservation town : Paris
  • Conservation place : Musée du Louvre

The French played a fundamental role in the emergence of Byzantine studies in the seventeenth century. An immediate political interest was at the root of this initiative. While Louis XIV was laying plans for the conquest of the Ottoman Empire, scholars scoured history for elements that would allow the French to make a claim for the throne of Constantinople. They found them in the family tie linking the Valois kings, from whom the Bourbons descended, and the Latin emperors of Constantinople, putting it forward as a basis for the imperial pretentions of the Sun King over both East and West. Scholarship was called upon to explain the history of the Byzantine Empire so as to have the king of France’s right to the imperial title recognised at the expense of Ottoman sultans and the Hapsburgs, who still held the title of Holy Roman Emperor. These political factors led to the rediscovery of Byzantium.

The first action of this undertaking was the publication of texts, notably from narrative sources, by the historians and chroniclers of the fourth and fifth centuries. They were prestigious publications, subsidised by Louis XIV, and brought out by the Imprimerie royale set up in the Louvre palace. The first large collection of sources relating to the history of the Byzantine Empire is the collection known as the “Byzantine du Louvre” collection. This vast publishing programme, published by the Jesuit Philippe Labbé (1607–1667) under the title De byzantinae historiae scriptoribus ad omnes per orbem eruditor protreptikon in 1648, comprised a list of thirty-two volumes, the first twenty-six of which were authenticated. Hellenists and religious scholars were given the task of collecting the most famous texts by Byzantine historians. They prepared a bilingual edition, in Greek and Latin, along with commentaries, and published it in large, luxuriously printed in-folio volumes. The programme was supplemented by the scholarly works of Charles Du Cange (1610–1688): Historia Byzantina, published in 1680, and the Glossarium of 1688, a dictionary still used to this day. The last volumes of the “Byzantine du Louvre” collection appeared in the early eighteenth century, with the publication of Nicephorus Gregoras by Jean Boivin in 1702. During the reign of Louis XV, the government stopped giving its support to scholarly historical publications.

The fascination of scholars with Byzantium that began in the 1640s reflected the monarchy’s interest in the imperial idea. The publications of the “Byzantine du Louvre” collection were instruments in the service of the king’s glory; they also helped establish the pre-eminence of French scholarship. Charles Du Cange began his career as a Byzantinist in 1658 with the publication of Geoffroi de Villehardouin’s account of the conquest of Constantinople. Added to the “Byzantine du Louvre” collection, this chronicle was directly linked to Louis XIV’s imperial project. In Histoire de l’empire de Constantinople sous les empereurs françois, printed by the Imprimerie royale and dedicated to à Louis XIV, Du Cange encouraged the young monarch to try to conquer Constantinople once again.

The first French Byzantinists were the servants of royalty. However, their work has survived the ideology that used them and constitutes the foundation of modern research on the Byzantine world.

BIBLIOGRAPHY RELATED TO THE ITEM

Auzepy, M-F., J.-P. Grelois, Byzance retrouvée. Erudits et voyageurs français (XVIe-XVIIIe siècle), Paris, 2001, Publications de la Sorbonne.

Spieser, J.-M. “Ducange and Byzantium” in, Through the Looking-Glass: Byzantium through British Eyes, Aldershot, 2000, Ashgate.

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Pertusi, A. Storiografia Umanistica e Mondo Bizantino. Palermo, 1967, Lavagnini Bruno.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT

Qantara Qantara

La « Byzantine du Louvre »

  • Titre / dénomination : La « Byzantine du Louvre »
  • Auteur : Philippe Labbé (1607-1667), Charles Du Cange (1610-1688) et autres érudits hellénistes et religieux
  • Lieu de production : Paris, France
  • Date / période : XVIIe siècle
  • Matériaux et techniques : Livres imprimés
  • Ville de conservation : Paris
  • Lieu de conservation : Musée du Louvre

Les Français ont joué un rôle fondamental dans l’émergence des études byzantines au XVIIe siècle. Un intérêt politique immédiat est à la source de cette initiative. Alors que Louis XIV fait préparer des plans de conquête de l’Empire ottoman, les érudits recherchent dans l’Histoire des éléments permettant aux Français de revendiquer des droits sur le trône de Constantinople. Ils les trouvent dans le lien familial qui unit les Valois, dont descendent les Bourbons, et les empereurs latins de Constantinople, et le mettent en avant pour asseoir les prétentions impériales du Roi Soleil tant sur l’Orient que sur l’Occident. La science est appelée à expliquer l’histoire de l’Empire de Byzance de manière à légitimer les droits du roi de France sur le titre impérial aux dépens des sultans ottomans et des Habsbourgs qui détenaient toujours le titre d’empereur du Saint Empire Romain Germanique. Ces facteurs politiques mènent à la redécouverte de Byzance.

Le premier geste de cette entreprise est l’édition de textes, notamment de sources narratives, d’historiens et de chroniqueurs du IVe au XVe siècle. Il s’agit de publications de prestige, subventionnées par le roi Louis XIV, et sortant de l’Imprimerie royale installée au palais du Louvre. La première grande collection de sources relatives à l’histoire de l’Empire grec d’Orient est la collection dite « Byzantine du Louvre ». Cet ample programme d’édition, publié par le jésuite Philippe Labbé (1607-1667) en 1648 sous le titre De byzantinae historiae scriptoribus ad omnes per orbem eruditor protreptikon, comprend une liste de trente-deux numéros dont les vingt-six premiers sont donnés comme certains. Des érudits hellénistes et religieux sont chargés de rassembler les plus célèbres textes d’historiens byzantins. Ils préparent une édition bilingue, en grec et en latin, munie de commentaires, et la publient en grands volumes in-folio luxueusement imprimés. Le programme est complété par les œuvres d’érudition de Charles Du Cange (1610-1688) : l’Historia Byzantina publiée en 1680, et le Glossarium de 1688, dictionnaire encore utilisé de nos jours. Les derniers volumes de la « Byzantine du Louvre » paraissent dans les premières années du XVIIIe siècle, avec l’édition de Nicéphore Grégoras par Jean Boivin en 1702. Sous le règne de Louis XV, le pouvoir politique n’apporte plus son soutien aux grandes publications érudites de type historique.

L’engouement des savants pour Byzance à partir des années 1640, est le reflet de l’intérêt de la monarchie pour l’idée impériale. Les publications de la « Byzantine du Louvre » sont un instrument au service de la gloire du roi ; elles permettent également d’affirmer la prééminence de la science française. Charles Du Cange ouvre sa carrière de byzantiniste en 1658 par l'édition du texte de la conquête de Constantinople par Geoffroi de Villehardouin. Attaché à la « Byzantine du Louvre », ce récit est directement lié au projet impérial de Louis XIV. Dans Histoire de l’empire de Constantinople sous les empereurs françois, imprimée à l’Imprimerie royale et dédiée à Louis XIV, Du Cange encourageait le jeune souverain à entreprendre une nouvelle conquête de Constantinople.

Les premiers byzantinistes français sont des auxiliaires de la royauté. Toutefois, leur œuvre survit à l’idéologie qui les utilise et constitue le fondement des recherches modernes sur le monde byzantin.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE DE L'OBJET

Auzepy, M-F., Grelois, J.-P., Byzance retrouvée. Erudits et voyageur français (XVIe-XVIIIe siècle), cat. exp., Paris, 2001, Publications de la Sorbonne, p. 70-92.

Spieser, J.-M., « Ducange and Byzantium », in Through the Looking-Glass: Byzantium through British Eyes, Aldershot, 2000, Ashgate, « Society of the promotion of byzantine studies », p. 199-210.

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Pertusi, A., Storiografia Umanistica e Mondo Bizantino, Palerme, 1967, Lavagnini Bruno, « Publicazioni dell’instituto siciliano di studi bizantini e neoellenici, Quaderni n°5 ».



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT