Qantara Qantara

The Almoravid Qubba (kiosk)

  • Title/name : The Almoravid Qubba (kiosk)
  • Production place : Marrakech medina, Morocco
  • Date / period : During the reign of the Almoravid king ‘Ali Ibn Yūsuf (AD 1106-1142)
  • Materials and techniques : stone, baked brick, lime mortar, stucco, and wood
  • Dimensions : 7.30m x 7.35m x 5.35m x 5.45m
  • Conservation place : in-situ

This building[1] is the only surviving example of Almoravid religious architecture at Marrakech. In fact, the Almohads, as a way of purifying the city, demolished all their predecessors’ architectural constructions. Rediscovered during the 1948 archaeological digs by J. Meunié and H. Terrasse, the monument lies on the southern side of Ibn Yūsuf square, opposite the eponymous mosque. This building was undoubtedly part of an architectural ensemble that depended on the emir ‘Ali Ibn Yūsuf’s Mosque, which was destroyed when the Almohads captured the city in 1130. The kufic script adorning the base of the dome has been smashed, and the few words that can still be deciphered pay homage to the founding sultan ‘Ali Ibn Yūsuf, which confirms the monument’s date as belonging to the Almoravid era.

Rectangular in plan, and surrounded by four pillars, this monument is topped by a dome whose exterior has carved decorations of arches crowned with chevron that contain heptagonal stars. The decorations are like those on the dome of the al-Qarawīyīn Mosque in Fez (859–1135) or of the Qahwat al-Qubba Mosque in Sousse (eleventh to twelfth centuries)[2]. Stepped crenellation surrounds the dome. The northern and southern entrances are fitted with two pointed arches, and poly-lobed arches adorn the western and eastern entrances. The upper parts are pierced with openings adorned with arches of various shapes. Similar uses can be observed in the variety of the arches and the decorations in the Bāb al-Mardum Mosque at Toledo, whose floor plan is directly related. The Toledan building has a different elevation, which is crowned with nine domes; the one in the north corner, although less complex, is very similar to that at Marrakech[3].

The Qubba’s interior is crowned with a ribbed dome, whose stucco decorations are reminiscent of caliphal Andalusian art. Large, poly-lobed horseshoe arches sit directly on the square-based cornice that constitutes the dome’s skeleton. They cross with one another, transmitting the square plan into an octagonal one whose pendentives are richly decorated with floral patterns incised around a strongly projecting scallop. This motif was very common in classical Antiquity and echoes the rich classical influences of Tingitan Mauritania[4]. In the corners the empty spaces are covered with muqarnas arches. These decorative elements originated in Iran and were probably transmitted to Cairo in the Fātimid era, then to the Muslim West[5].

A drum serves as a transition between the large arches and the small terminal dome (in Andalusian tradition) that completes the ensemble. This octagonal level is made up of small recticurvilinear arches, which seem to have been an Egypt inspiration. They can also be seen in the Great Mosque at Tlemcen (end of the eleventh to the beginning of the twelfth century), in Cairo in the shrine of Sayyida ‘Ātika (1100–1120), and in Spain in the Aljaferia at Zaragoza (second half of the sixteenth century).

This building’s dome-centred plan is typical of funerary buildings. However, archaeological digs have revealed that a basin existed in the centre of the kiosk and a water supply that dates back to the building’s construction. The nearby discovery of an ablutions complex linked to the great mosque, dating from the reign of ‘Ali ibn Yūsuf, seems to confirm that this Qubba was part of it and was a place dedicated to the ablutions of the worshippers. 

This building is part of the Córdoban tradition that prevailed at the beginning of Hispano-Maghrebian art in Fez, Tlemcen, Algiers, and Marrakech, although Moroccan vestiges that attest to this artistic exchange are rare.

NOTE

[1] Also known as Qubbat al-Baruddiyyin or Qubbat al-Buāddiyyin. In Islam, the term qubba is generally attributed to a religious funerary monument whose plan is centred under a cupola. It is, however used to describe a monument with a similar layout but different functions, like a kiosk in a garden or a mosque.

[2] Golvin, p. 125.

[3] This edifice became the Church of Cristo de la Luz, and is dated with an inscription reading 999, attributed by L. Golvin to the Toledan school. The edifice has a plan that is very common in the Muslim world, which can be found from Spain to Afghanistan. The Almoravids unified a part of Spain under their rule from 1086 (Toledo remained in the hands of the Christians).

[4] The ancient name of Morocco in the Roman era

[5] This can be seen at Al-Qayrawān, Bougie, the Qa’la of Bani-Hammad, Tlemcen, and Fez.

BIBLIOGRAPHY RELATED TO THE ITEM

Deverdun, G., Marrakech des origines à 1912, 2 tomes. Rabat: Techniques nord-africaines, 1959, pp. 105-106.

Marçais, G., L’architecture musulmane d’occident, Paris: Arts et métiers graphiques, 1954.

Meunié, J.; Terrasse, H., Nouvelles recherches archéologiques à Marrakech, Paris: I.H.E.M, Arts et métiers graphiques, 1952.

Sites et monuments de Marrakech, Direction du patrimoine culturel, Rabat, 1999.

Terrasse, M., L’architecture hispano-maghrébine et la naissance d’un nouvel art Moroccoain à l’āge des Mérinides, state doctoral thesis, under the direction of J. Theight Sourdel, Paris, 1979.

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Bosworth, C.E., Les dynasties musulmanes, Arles: Sindbad/ Actes Sud, 1996, pp. 57–60.

Hill, D.; Golvin, L., Islamic Architecture in North Africa, London: Faber and Faber, 1976, pp. 124–125, ill. pl. 394 to 396 and V.

Parker, R., A Practical Guide to Islamic Monuments in Morocco, Virginia: Baraca Press, 1981, pp. 58–59, ill. 10 to 12.

Pérez Higuera, T., ‘Mezquita de Bab Al-Mardum o del cristo de la luz’, in Mezquita de Bab al-Mardum: Cristo de la Luz: Toledo 999-1999, (exhibition catalogue, Toledo, provincial historical archives room, 2000], Toledo: Junta de Comunidades de Castilla-la Mancha, 1999, pp. 15–25.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT

Qantara Qantara

Qubba almoravide (kiosque)

  • Titre / dénomination : Qubba almoravide (kiosque)
  • Lieu de production : Maroc, Médina de Marrakech
  • Date / période :

    Règne du souverain almoravide ‘Ali Ibn Yûsuf (r. 1106-1142)

  • Matériaux et techniques : Pierre, brique cuite, mortier de chaux, stuc, bois
  • Dimensions : 7,30 x 7,35 x 5,35 x 5,45 m
  • Lieu de conservation : in-situ

Cet édifice[1] représente le seul témoignage de l’architecture religieuse des Almoravides à Marrakech. En effet, les Almohades, en signe de purification de la ville, ont procédé dès sa conquête à la démolition de toutes les œuvres architecturales de leurs prédécesseurs. Redécouvert lors de fouilles archéologiques menées en 1948 par J. Meunié et H. Terrasse, le monument occupe le côté méridional de la place Ibn Yûsuf, en face de la mosquée éponyme. Cet édifice faisait sans doute partie d’un ensemble architectural dépendant de la mosquée de l’émir ‘Ali Ibn Yûsuf, qui fut détruite à la suite de l’occupation de la ville par les Almohades en 1130. L’inscription kufique qui orne la base de la coupole fut martelée et les quelques mots que l’on a pu déchiffrer font mention du nom du sultan fondateur ‘Ali Ibn Yûsuf, ce qui confirme une datation du monument sous le règne des Almoravides.

De plan rectangulaire, circonscrit par quatre piliers, ce monument s’achève par un dôme orné à l’extérieur d’un décor sculpté d’arcatures surmontées de chevrons qui encadrent une étoile heptagonale. Ce décor est proche de ceux que l’on rencontre sur le dôme de la mosquée al-Qarawiyyîn de Fès (859-1135) ou de la Qahwat al-Qubba de Sousse (XIe-XIIe siècles)[2]. Tout autour de la coupole se dressent des créneaux dotés de merlons à degrés. Les entrées septentrionales et méridionales sont agrémentées chacune de deux arcs brisés outrepassés, alors qu’un arc polylobé orne les entrées occidentales et orientales. Dans la partie haute sont percées des ouvertures ornées d’arcatures aux formes variées. On retrouve des usages similaires au niveau de la variété des arcs et du décor dans la mosquée Bâb al-Mardum de Tolède, qui présente également une filiation au niveau de son plan au sol. L’édifice tolédan présente cependant une élévation qui diffère, surmontée de neuf coupoles, dont l’une dans l’angle nord, bien que moins complexe, est proche de celle de Marrakech[3].

La partie interne de la qubba est couverte d’une coupole nervée dont le décor en stuc rappelle l’art de l’époque califale en Andalousie. De grands arcs outrepassés polylobés posés directement sur la corniche de plan carré constituent l’ossature de la coupole. Leur entrecroisement permet le passage du plan carré à un octogone, délimitant des pendentifs au riche décor floral incisé autour d’une coquille en forte saillie. Ce motif, très présent dans l’Antiquité, constitue une reprise qui se comprend par le riche passé antique de la Maurétanie tingitane[4]. Dans les angles, les espaces vides sont couverts de petites coupoles à muqarnas. Ces éléments décoratifs originaires d’Iran auraient été transmis au Caire à l’époque fatimide puis à l’Occident musulman[5].

Un tambour sert de transition entre les grands arcs et la petite coupole terminale de tradition andalouse qui achève l’ensemble. Cet étage octogonal est formé de petits arcs recticurvilignes, qui semblent être une importation d’Égypte. On les retrouve à Tlemcen dans la grande mosquée (fin XIe-début XIIe siècle), au Caire dans le tombeau de Sayyida ‘Âtika (1100-1120) ainsi qu’en Espagne à l’Aljaferia de Saragosse (seconde moitié du XIe siècle).

De par son plan, centré sous coupole, cet édifice s’apparente à des structures funéraires. Cependant, les fouilles ont révélées l’existence d’un bassin au centre du kiosque et d’arrivées d’eau datant de la construction. La découverte à proximité d’un complexe d’ablution en lien avec la grande mosquée, daté du règne de ‘Ali ibn Yûsuf, semble confirmer que cette qubba en faisait partie et était un lieu dédié aux ablutions des fidèles.

Cet édifice s’inscrit dans la tradition cordouane qui prévalait au début de l’art hispano-maghrébin à Fès, Tlemcen, Alger et Marrakech, bien que les vestiges marocains qui témoignent de cet échange artistique soient rares.

NOTE

[1] Connu aussi sous les noms de Qubbat al-Baruddiyyin ou Qubbat al-Buâddiyyin. Le nom de qubba est généralement attribué en Islam à un monument de plan centré sous coupole à fonction funéraire. On l’utilise cependant parfois pour qualifier un monument de plan similaire dont les fonctions diffèrent, comme un kiosque dans un jardin ou dans une mosquée.

[2] Golvin, p. 125.

[3] Devenu l’église Cristo de la Luz, cet édifice est daté par une inscription de l’année 999 et attribuée par L. Golvin à l’école tolédane. Cet édifice présente un plan qui essaime dans le monde musulman, que l’on retrouve de l’Espagne à l’Afghanistan. Les Almoravides unifièrent une partie de l’Espagne sous leur férule à partir des années 1086 (Tolède reste aux mains des chrétiens).

[4] Nom antique du Maroc à l’époque romaine.

[5] On en rencontre à Kairouan, Bougie, la Qa’la des Bani-Hammad, Tlemcen et Fès.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE DE L'OBJET

Deverdun, G., Marrakech des origines à 1912, 2 tomes, Rabat, Techniques nord-africaines, 1959, p. 105-106.

Marçais, G., L’architecture musulmane d’occident, Paris, Arts et métiers graphiques, 1954.

Meunié, J., Terrasse, H., Nouvelles recherches archéologiques à Marrakech, Paris, I.H.E.M, Arts et métiers graphiques, 1952.

Sites et monuments de Marrakech, Direction du patrimoine culturel, Rabat, 1999.

Terrasse, M.,  L’architecture hispano-maghrébine et la naissance d’un nouvel art marocain à l’âge des Mérinides, Thèse de Doctorat d’Etat, sous la direction de J. Th. Sourdel, Paris, 1979.

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Bosworth, C.E., Les dynasties musulmanes, Arles, Sindbad, Actes Sud, 1996, p. 57-60.

Hill, D. ; Golvin, L., Islamic Architecture in North Africa, Londres, Faber and Faber, 1976, p. 124-125, ill. pl. 394 à 396 et V.

Parker, R., A Practical Guide to Islamic Monuments in Morocco, Virginie, Baraca Press, 1981, p. 58-59, ill. 10 à 12.

Pérez Higuera, T., « Mezquita de Bab Al-Mardum o del cristo de la luz », in Mezquita de Bab al-Mardum : Cristo de la Luz : Toledo 999-1999, (cat. exp., Tolède, salle des archives historiques provinciale, 2000], Tolède, Junta de Comunidades de Castilla-la Mancha, 1999, p. 15-25.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT