Qantara Qantara

Synagogue of Santa Maria la Blanca

Saint Mary the White

  • Name : Synagogue of Santa Maria la Blanca
  • Place : Toledo, Spain
  • Construction date/period : Twelfth century
  • Construction materials : Brick, stone
  • Architectural pattern : Stucco decorations

Situated in the old ghetto on the city of Toledo, the synagogue was built by Abraham Ibn Alfashar, ambassador and advisor to Alfonso VIII in the Almohad court, at the end of the twelfth century. It was then rebuilt in 1250 after a devastating fire. During the Middle Ages, it was one of the most famous synagogues in Castille. The Santa Maria la Blanca and the Synagogue of El Transito are the only synagogues in Toledo that have survived to the present day.

Although there has been some debate as to the whether the synagogue is Almohad or Mudéjar in origin, it is widely believed to be a Mudéjar construction. During the eleventh and twelfth centuries, the prayer rooms in Andalusian mosques often comprised three naves perpendicular to the qibla wall, separated by horseshoe arches, which may have served as a model for this synagogue.

The synagogue, which has a basilical plan and is similar to the city's great mosque, has five naves, the central nave being higher than the others—a feature that can also be found in the Gothic cathedral of Toledo. The naves are separated by arcades with horseshoe arches that rest on thirty-two octagonal brick pillars topped by capitals decorated with various volutes. The lobed arches decorated with carved plaster vegetal motifs and geometric interlacing were influenced by Almohad art. Classical Mudéjar panelling in the central nave completes the ensemble. Everything seems to indicate that the building was designed and constructed by Muslim craftsmen.

Then, between 1550 and 1556, an apse was added, comprising three Renaissance style chapels, which are attributed to Alonso de Covarrubias. The synagogue's current name originates from the beginning of the fifteenth century, when it became a church of the Order of Calatrava in 1410. Today, the monument is a tourist attraction, and a centre for cultural exchange and activities.

REFERENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY

Borrás Gualis, G., ‘El mudéjar y la expresión artística de la minorías confesionales en Áragón: mezquitas y sinagogas’, in Aragón Sefarad, Zaragoza, 2006, p. 381–393.

López Guzmán, R., Arquitectura mudéjar: del sincretismo medieval a las alternativas hispanoamericanas, Madrid, 2000, Cátedra.

VV.AA. El Arte Mudéjar. La estética islámica en el arte cristiano. Madrid, 2000, Electa.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT

Qantara Qantara

Synagogue de Santa Maria la Blanca (Sainte Marie la Blanche)

  • Nom : Synagogue de Santa Maria la Blanca (Sainte Marie la Blanche)
  • Lieu : Tolède, Espagne
  • Date/période de construction : XIIe siècle
  • Matériaux de construction : Brique, pierre
  • Décor architectural : Décor de stuc

Située dans l’ancien ghetto de la ville de Tolède, cette synagogue fut construite par Abraham Ibn Alfashar, conseiller et ambassadeur d’Alphonse VIII à la cour almohade, à la fin du XIIe siècle. Elle fut par la suite reconstruite en 1250, à cause d’un important incendie. Elle était pendant le Moyen Âge l’une des synagogues les plus célèbres de Castille. De toutes les synagogues de Tolède, Santa Maria la Blanca et la synagogue del Transito sont les seules à être encore conservées aujourd’hui.

Son origine, almohade ou mudéjare, a beaucoup été débattue, bien que cette dernière thèse soit la plus répandue aujourd’hui. Pendant les XIe et XIIe siècles, les salles de prière des mosquées andalouses étaient le plus souvent constituées de trois nefs perpendiculaires à la qibla, séparées par des arcs outrepassées et qui servirent peut-être de modèle pour cette synagogue.

De structure basilicale, cette synagogue possède tout comme la grandecinq nefs, la nef centrale étant plus haute mosquée disparue de la ville, que les autres, typologie que l’on retrouve aussi dans la cathédrale gothique de Tolède. Les nefs sont séparées par des arcades aux arcs outrepassées qui reposent sur trente-deux piliers de brique octogonaux accompagnés de chapiteaux décorés de différentes formes de volutes. Des arcs lobés à décor de plâtre sculpté de motifs végétaux et d’entrelacs géométriques reflètent l’influence de l’art almohade. Un décor de lambris mudéjar classique dans la nef centrale complète l’ensemble. Tout indique que l’œuvre fut peut-être conçue et exécutée par des artisans musulmans.

Par la suite, entre 1550 et 1556, on y intégra une abside constituée de trois chapelles, au décor renaissance, attribuée à Alonso de Covarrubias. Le nom actuel de la synagogue remonte au début du XVe siècle, lorsqu’elle devint une église de l’Ordre de Calatrava en 1410. Aujourd’hui elle est, en plus d’être un monument touristique d’intérêt, un centre culturel de rencontres et d’activités.

BIBLIOGRAHIE DE REFERENCE

Borrás Gualis, G., « El mudéjar y la expresión artística de la minorías confesionales en Áragón: mezquitas y sinagogas », in Aragón Sefarad, Zaragoza, 2006, p. 381-393.

López Guzmán, R., Arquitectura mudéjar: del sincretismo medieval a las alternativas hispanoamericanas, Madrid, 2000, Cátedra.

VV.AA. El Arte Mudéjar. La estética islámica en el arte cristiano,  Madrid, 2000, Electa.



Expression #1 of ORDER BY clause is not in SELECT list, references column 'qantara.fr_index.in_poids' which is not in SELECT list; this is incompatible with DISTINCT